Concerned Learning Material Developers

Quality Control and Price Setting

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Tass Schwab 3 weeks, 4 days ago.

• Author

Tass Schwab
    Participant

I would like to pose two questions to this group, and gain some insight and feedback. I have been developing learning material since 2005 and also acting as an Agent for those whose material I feel is Quality and has no come backs.

In the time I have been in this arena of Instructional Design, I have seen the Quality of the material drop, as well as the prices. I suspect it is linked, but I could also be wrong.

Now, with the QCTO, there is no Quality check as there was with the SETA’s who gave feedback BEFORE the Learners experienced this. How can we ensure that our learners are getting Quality Learning? The QCTO says that the proof will come out in the Assessments, by then I feel it is too late.

My questions thus are:
    1. How can we ensure that material is being produced that is Quality?
    2.How do you feel about price regulation? (currently there is QCTO material going for very low prices, knowing what is costs to employ Subject Matter experts to Author this work I question how this is possible)

Your insights and ideas would be valued!!!

Share on Social Media

Kevin Nkomo
    Participant

Afternoon Tass,

The truth here is that most f the material that is going around being sold has not been developed by the sellers. I have sourced a lot of SETA and QCTO qualifications for clients and collected samples from sellers and noticed that its the same material thats being sold by different sellers. The price differences are shocking e.g. You can be quoted R25 000 for a QCTO qualification by one seller then the next quotes you R6 000 (R10 000 if you purchase 2) of the exact same material. Thats what is happening. Material got into hands of “retailers” who are now focusing on reselling…Im not too sure about their after-service.