Assessment & Moderation

Assessors_Moderators Refreshers

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Desiree Fourie 2 months ago.

• Author

Desiree Fourie
    Participant

Hi

I was just wondering, how do Assessors and Moderators keep abreast with their relevant SETA’s wrt to changes? e.g. the initialling of each page only came about a couple of years ago. How would an Assessor become aware of this change to ensure that when it goes for moderating it’s not pended and returned because each page was not initialled. (just using initialling) as an example. There have been some changes of late that I am not aware of and I have been assessing for about 7 years. Any suggestions.

Even if it means attending a refresher course I am happy to.

Desiree

Share on Social Media

Wilma de Villiers
    Participant

Desiree, it is a challenge. We only found out at external moderation. I have asked the SETA several times for a policy or a manual/ guidelines. My defense was every time that it is nowhere in writing and it was not indicated in the previous external moderator report. It was then accepted and then indicated as a recommendation in the external moderator report.

Another challenges is that the criteria sometimes differ from external moderator to external moderator.

Share on Social Media

Desiree Fourie
    Participant

Hi Wilma

Thanks so much for your feedback at least I don’t feel alone here and this is why I put it out there.

I am also going to try with SETA as I know someone there and if I manage to get any positive feedback I will keep you in the loop.

I think we should as Assessor and Moderators just share information we receive from internal and external moderator. Some may be old but some may be current. Maybe we should create a group on here purely for that.

Maybe our Group Administrators can be of assistance here.

It’s a learning journey for all of us and will also improve the assessment/moderating processes.

Kind Regards
    Des