Media Development and Diversity Agency Board appointments

President Zuma appoints members to Media Development and Diversity Agency Board

6 January 2011

President Jacob Zuma has today, 6 January 2011, appointed three members to the statutory Media Development and Diversity Agency Board.

The President appointed Ms Louise Carole Vale, Ms Nadia Bulbulia and Ms Phelisa Nkomo in terms of Section 8 (2) of the Media Development and Diversity Agency Act, following recommendations from the National Assembly.


Set up by an Act of Parliament, the Media Development and Diversity Agency is tasked with enabling “historically disadvantaged communities and persons not adequately served by the media” to gain access to the media. Over the years it has continued to benefit community media and small commercial media.


President Zuma especially thanked the sterling work and outstanding service to the Board of the three outgoing members whose terms of office expired on the 31st of December 2010. These are Professor Guy Berger, Mr Siviwe Minyi and Ms Nomonde Gongxeka.


“The MDDA has a very important task to perform but I am certain they will accomplish it, working together with government and all media stakeholders. We have to expand access to the media by all our people regardless of where they live, their gender or race,” President Zuma said.


The three new members were appointed for a three-year term, ending in 2014.


Enquiries: Zanele Mngadi on 082 330 1148


Issued by the Presidency

Union Buildings




The Presidency – Website

Share on Social Media

Leave a comment