New Saqa Board appointed

The Minister of Higher Education and Training, Dr Blade Nzimande, has appointed the following 12 persons as members of the fifth board of the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) to serve a five year term from 1 January 2011 to 31 December 2016.

Mr Mfundiso Johnson Ntabankulu Njeke, Chairperson

Mr David Adler

Dr Clifford Freddie Barnes

Ms Chuene Thama Duba

Ms S Mosidi Maboye

Adv Kevin Sifiso Malunga

Mr Archie Mokonane

Ms Nirmala Devi Moodley

Mrs Catherine Susanna Müller

Dr Vuyelwa Toni Penxa

Professor Talvin Gregory Schultz

Mr Olwethu Sipuka

(Profiles of the new board members and background information on SAQA and the National Qualifications Framework are in the attached briefing notes.)

Minister Nzimande thanked Mr Njeke and the members of the new team for making themselves available for this national service. The SAQA board is the custodian of the integrity of our national system of qualifications. Beyond that, SAQA and the three Quality Councils are responsible for ensuring that our integrated National Qualifications Framework continuously opens new learning and career opportunities for learners and workers.

Minister Nzimande expressed appreciation to Professor Shirley Walters, chairperson of the outgoing board, for her outstanding leadership during a difficult time of transition to new NQF legislation and a new departmental configuration. The entire board deserves thanks for maintaining course while adapting to change.

Share on Social Media

Leave a comment