Call for applications: AU-TWAS Young Scientists’ National Award

AU-TWAS NationalAward Young Scientists LEAFLET.pdf

AU-TWAS_Award_Application form.pdf

The AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Award which is open to both male and female young researchers is designed to recognize the scientific achievements of young researchers working and living in Africa and to encourage them to continue to strive for excellence in their scientific careers.

In each African country, the AU-TWAS award will be given annually in the following 2 fields of science:

· Life and Earth Sciences;

· Basic Sciences, Technology and Innovation.

For each award, AU and TWAS shall make available a yearly amount of up to US$5,000 as prize money.

In addition to the cash award, the winners will also receive a certificate.

This new initiative, to be implemented from 2010, has been developed from the existing TWAS award for your scientists from developed countries. In African countries, the AU-TWAS Young Scientists National Award will replace any previous agreement of collaboration signed with TWAS within the framework of the prizes to young scientists from developing countries.

The deadline is 30 June 2010.

Philistas Masinga

Liaison Officer

Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)

Switchboard: +27 12 349 6600

Tel: +27 12 349 6605

Cell: +27 72 185 8681

Fax: +27 (0) 86 210 5592


1st Floor Block A, The Woods, 41 De Havilland Crescent, Persequor Park

Meiring Naudé Road, Lynnwood 0020, Pretoria, South Africa.

PO Box 72135, Lynnwood Ridge 0040, Pretoria, South Africa.


Share on Social Media

Leave a comment