What is the NQF?

By sylviahammond, 9 June, 2024

The NQF is the National Qualifications Framework, which contains 10 levels of qualifications, and is managed by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).  

There are three sub-frameworks of the NQF: 

  • the Occupational Qualifications Sub-framework (OQSF) has qualifications from Level 1 to Level 8;
  • the Higher Education Sub-framework (HEQSF) to a Doctorate at Level 10; and 
  • the GFET Sub-framework (GFETQSF) that covers from Level 1 (Grade 9 , old Standard 7) up to  the highest school leaving qualification, a National Senior Certificate (matric) that sits at level 4,.   


Copyright: Portal Publishing (Pty)Ltd | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Skills Portal | Careers Portal | Jobs Portal | Bursaries Portal | Skills Universe
About us | Contact us
Portal PublishingPress Council